CentreCyclopediaOld Main

Divisions, Academic

Centre College reorganized its academic structure beginning fall 1967 into three divisions that replaced all existing departments of instruction except for the department of physical education. The new organization included a division of humanities, a division of social studies, and a division of science and mathematics. Each divison would be under the leadership of a chair appointed by the college's president. The first appointed chairs were: Dr. Mary Sweeney (Humanities); Dr. David F. Hughes (Social Studies); and Dr. Harold N. Hanson (Science and Mathematics).