CentreCyclopediaOld Main

Stuart HallHillside Houses

Date Built: 1974

Named For: James Proctor Knott, Fred Arnicar, John C. Fales, Frank Rainey, James H. Hewlett, Daniel L. and Lucy Blayney Thomas, Richard Rush, David F. Huges, and Joseph Proctor Knott.

Architect: Donald Hill and Samuel Halley

Current Use: residence

Hillside House is a cluster of eight separate residence units accomodating six students each. Opened in 1974, the original intent was that each unit would be used by a small group of students united by a common academic interest. Construction was financed by a $312,000 grant from the James Graham Brown Foundation.