CentreCyclopediaOld Main

W. George Matton Professorships

The W. George Matton Professorships were established in 1969 by a bequest from W. George Matton, a Louisville tobacco executive and benefactor of the College. Matton bequeathed approximately $1,600,000 to Centre following his death in 1969, at that time the largest single gift ever made to the college. In October 1969 the Board of Trustees approved the establishment of three named professorships in his honor. In 1971 three faculty, Charles E. Whittle, Frank H. Heck, and Charles T. Hazelrigg, were named the first Matton Professors.