CentreCyclopediaOld Main

Rhodes Scholars

The Rhodes Scholarships, the oldest international fellowships, were initiated after the death of Cecil Rhodes in 1902, and bring outstanding students from many countries around the world to the University of Oxford. The first American Scholars were elected in 1904. American Rhodes Scholars are selected through a decentralized process by which regional selection committees choose 32 Scholars each year from among those nominated by selection committees in each of the fifty states. Through December 2000, applicants from more than 300 American colleges and universities had been selected as Rhodes Scholars.

Centre College has produced seven Rhodes Scholars:

  • Winchester Stuart '08 (Oxford: 1908-1911)
  • Richard W. Dunlap '15 (Oxford: 1919-1922, history)
  • W. Strother Hynes '22 (Oxford: 1923-1926, law)
  • John Patton Harrod '67 (Oxford: 1967-1969, English)
  • Raymond Burse '73 (Oxford: 1973-1975, chemistry)
  • David M. Fowler '74 (Oxford: 1974-1976, medicine)
  • Michael Lanham '00 (Oxford: 2000-2002, mathematics)