CentreCyclopediaOld Main

Isaac Shelby Society

The Isaac Shelby Society was established in 1972 to recognize and to build a common bond among those persons, who, through either current or deferred gifts, have demonstrated theri dedication to the advancement of independent liberal arts education as exemplified by Centre College. The society is named after the distinguished early Kentucky statesman who served as the first Chair of Centre's Board of Trustees.

The Isaac Shelby Medallion recipients are

1972John Sherman Cooper
1977Chauncey Newlin
1981Ewing Boles
1986Golladay LaMotte
1997Pierce Lively
1999James H. Evans